Home | Contact | About MOS | Membership | Publications | Prizes | Meetings | IPCO | ISMP | Links | Album | Jobs
Mathematical Optimization Society

MOS Prizes

Beale-Orchard-Hays Prize - Call for nominations 2015


Call for nomination of the 2015 Beale-Orchard-Hays Prize

Nominations are invited for the 2015 Beale-Orchard Hays Prize for excellence in computational mathematical programming that will be awarded at the International Symposium on Mathematical Programming to be held in Pittsburgh in August 2015.

The Prize is sponsored by the Mathematical Optimization Society, in memory of Martin Beale and William Orchard-Hays, pioneers in computational mathematical programming. Nominated works must have been published between Jan 1, 2009 and Dec 31, 2014, and demonstrate excellence in any aspect of computational mathematical programming. "Computational mathematical programming" includes the development of high-quality mathematical programming algorithms and software, the experimental evaluation of mathematical programming algorithms, and the development of new methods for the empirical testing of mathematical programming techniques. Full details of prize rules and eligibility requirements can be found here.

The 2015 Prize Committee consists of

  • Robert Bixby (Chair)
  • Michael Ferris
  • Masakazu Kojima
  • Petra Muetzel
  • Katja Scheinberg

Nominations can be submitted electronically or in writing, and should include detailed publication details of the nominated work. Electronic submissions should include an attachment with the final published version of the nominated work. If done in writing, submissions should include five copies of the nominated work. Supporting justification and any supplementary material are strongly encouraged but not mandatory. The Prize Committee reserves the right to request further supporting material and justification from the nominees.

Nominations should be submitted to:

Dr. Robert Bixby
3733-1 Westheimer Road
Box 1001
Houston, Texas 77027
Email: bixby@gurobi.com

The deadline for receipt of nominations is

January 15, 2015.

Previous winners of the Beale-Orchard-Hays Prize are listed here. Further information about the Beale-Orchard-Hays Prize can be found here.