Home | Contact | About MOS | Membership | Publications | Prizes | Meetings | IPCO | ISMP | Links | Album | Jobs
Mathematical Optimization Society

MOS Prizes

Lagrange Prize - Call for nominations 2018


Call for nomination of the 2018 Lagrange Prize

Nominations are solicited for the 2018 Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization, administered jointly by the Mathematical Optimization Society (MOS) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).

The Lagrange Prize, established in 2002, is awarded for an outstanding contribution in the area of continuous optimization. The work will be judged on its mathematical quality, significance, and originality. Clarity of the exposition and the value of the work in practical applications may be considered as secondary attributes. The 2018 prize will be presented at the SIAM Annual Meeting, July 9-13, 2018, in Portland, Oregon.

The work to be considered should form the final publication of the main result(s) and should have been published between the years of 2012 to 2017 as an article in a recognized journal, a comparable, well-referenced volume intended to publish final publications only, or a monograph consisting chiefly of original results rather than previously published material. Extended abstracts and prepublications, and articles in published journals, journal sections or proceedings that are intended to publish non-final papers, are not eligible.

The award will include a certificate containing the citation and a cash prize of US$ 1,500. In the event of joint authorship, the prize will be divided.

The members of the 2018 Lagrange Prize committee are:

  • Philip E. Gill, University of California, San Diego
  • Andreas Griewank, Yachay University, Ecuador
  • Etienne de Klerk, Tilburg University and Delft University of Technology
  • Katya Scheinberg (Chair), Lehigh University

Nominations should include a letter evaluating the contribution(s) of the work and citing the works to be considered. Nominations and questions regarding the nomination process should be sent to

Professor Katya Scheinberg
Email: katyas@lehigh.edu

The deadline for nominations is November 30, 2017.

More information on the prize, including past winners, is available here or on the SIAM homepage .